Leave a comment

A bike stuck in a TTC turnstile & the power of photos

I’m aliiiiiive! I’ve taken a break from blogging lately, apologies.

I thought I’d start with a fun assignment I gave myself at work today. The Toronto Star is doing an article on the following for tomorrow, so be sure to check that out, but I couldn’t not do something with this photo!

The photo in question:

Image
(Credit: Laurie Brown/CBC)

It goes with a story you can read on thestar.com!

I asked readers on the Star’s Facebook page to write a caption for the above photo. Man, did that take off. Before I left for the day, just a few hours after I had posted the photo, there were 100 caption suggestions in the comment field! A quick check just this minute shows 154 captions!

Read the captions

My personal favourite was the simple “Pivot!!!”

But the one “liked” the most by readers was, “A notorious fare skipper, the invisible man is finally caught in action!”

According to this recent social media analysis, photos get far more likes and shares than any other type of post you can make on Facebook.

That doesn’t surprise me. A powerful image can speak to people all around the world. Like this one I saw passed around on Facebook a bunch recently:

Image
(A construction worker in China survived after being impaled by steel bars.)

Or this gallery of photos BuzzFeed recently posted: 21 Pictures That Will Restore Your Faith In Humanity.

This one is my favourite. It’s a man giving his shoes to a homeless girl in Rio de Janeiro:

Image

We all connect with these types of photos, whether they make us smile or laugh or cry or feel warmth in our hearts.

So I had a lot of fun today posting that bike photo, chuckling to myself over it, and reading people’s caption suggestions. I love engaging with people and seeing what creative things they come up with, just with a little nudge.

It’s doing things like this that make me feel glad to have the job that I do. Social media is fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

